A technical approach to art…

Hello dear reader,

I am busy preparing my final year portfolio (Hence the reduced number of posts), and I  had a creative block as to what I essentially want the portfolio to look like.  Then I spoke to one of my amazing lecturers and he suggested I look at Rafael Araujo’s work.  The way I approach my design work is neither 100 % right or left brained, but more a balancing act of the two.  Having studied engineering prior to this course makes me look at design problems and solutions not only from a creative point of view, but also from a functional and practical point as well.  If I had to describe Rafael Araujo’s work I would have to say it is the marriage between technical and creative approaches to design/ illustration. His work looks like rendered architectural sketches complete with construction lines and minor annotations, I swear my heart skipped a beat when I first saw his work.

nautilus-3

blue-2shell-2

So in order to use his work for my portfolio I decided to contact him asking for permission, and you know what happened after that? He did not only agree but offered to send me some high resolution prints of his work. Thank you Rafael Araujo!! My faith in humanity has been restored today.  If you want to see more of his work follow this link: http://www.rafael-araujo.com/calculo_ing.html

 

Images Source: http://www.rafael-araujo.com/calculo_ing.html

Leave a Reply

