Decorex Discoveries…

On Friday the 8th after a week from hell, I decided to go to the 2014 Johannesburg Decorex with the tickets I scored from the amazing Caesarstone rep.  I must admit I was pretty tired from too many working late nights and so was my partner in crime, but I love freebies and it would be sacrilegious to let free tickets go to waste.  This was my 4th time at the Decorex show and I was especially excited to be going as an industry guest.  I always go to the Decorex with one thing in mind-inspiration!! I want to see things I haven’t seen- innovation, South African designers/ creators making amazing things, and I found some pretty interesting finds!!

IMG_6661

The first interesting thing I saw was the Ashley Heather stand, she makes contemporary jewellery handcrafted in silver reclaimed from photographic waste. Her creations are amazing and I especially got excited because they are made from recycled materials!! Her jewelry is minimalistic but intricately made, I am in love with this jewellery and will be ordering mine just in time for my birthday.  To see more of these amazing creations visit her  Facebook account: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ahley-Heather-jewellery/125588347520905.  The jewellery is proudly South African made in Cape Town.

1

For more amazing finds like this amazing light, check out tomorrow’s blog post!!  I will also be discussing Modular home building that is also proudly South African.

IMG_6640

 

Till then…

 

Leave a Reply

